AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get art and craft supplies delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, has opened applications for the 2027–29 Core Residency Program, a residency for emerging artists and critical writers. Applications are due January 8, 2027; the term runs from September 2027 to July 2029.

The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston has opened applications for the 2027–29 Core Residency Program, which offers residencies to emerging artists and critical writers. Applications are due January 8, 2027, and the residency term is scheduled to run from September 2027 through July 2029.

The program is based at the MFAH’s Glassell School of Art. According to the program announcement, fellows receive a private studio and regular studio visits with artists and curators. They can also take free or discounted classes at the school and may request access to fabrication facilities for areas including painting, printmaking, photography, sculpture, jewelry and ceramics.

Residents also receive access to the MFAH and its galleries and collections, as well as the museum’s two house museums focused on American and European decorative arts. The announced benefits include borrowing privileges at the MFAH’s Hirsch Library and Rice University’s Fondren Library.

The announcement describes the program as intended for highly motivated emerging artists and critical writers committed to developing a sustainable practice. Application instructions and further information are available at mfah.org/core. The supplied announcement does not specify the number of places available or list application materials.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Applications are open for the 2027–29 t…
The developmentThe Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, is accepting applications for the next two-year term of its Core Residency Program.

Studios, Collections and Critique

The residency combines dedicated workspace with access to museum collections, technical facilities and professional feedback. For participating artists and writers, those resources may support sustained work over a nearly two-year term, rather than a short workshop or course. Studio visits with artists and curators also create a structured setting for discussion of fellows’ work.

The offering is relevant to applicants weighing both the time commitment and practical support of a residency. The announced benefits include private studio space, classes and library access, but the source does not state whether fellows receive a stipend, housing, travel assistance or other financial support. Applicants may need to consult the program’s full instructions to assess costs and eligibility.

Vitamix Propel Series 750 Professional-Grade Blender, 4 Programs, Black

Vitamix Propel Series 750 Professional-Grade Blender, 4 Programs, Black

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Houston Museum Residency

The Core Residency is run by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, through its Glassell School of Art. The current announcement concerns the program’s 2027–29 term, with the start and end dates set out as September 2027 to July 2029. This timing gives prospective applicants a defined deadline well ahead of the residency’s start.

The program’s published description brings together two kinds of access: workspace and learning resources at Glassell, and research opportunities connected to the museum and partner libraries. The announcement also identifies specific fabrication areas, but says access to those studios may be requested; it does not guarantee every fellow use of every facility. Details beyond the listed benefits should be checked against the application materials.

“The program is for “exceptional, highly motivated emerging artists and critical writers committed to developing a sustainable practice.””

— Core Residency Program announcement

Application Terms Still Unspecified

The announcement does not state how many fellows will be selected, the eligibility rules, required application materials, selection criteria or when applicants will be notified. It also does not clarify whether the residency provides a stipend, housing, insurance or other financial assistance. Those points should not be assumed from the listed studio, class and library benefits.

Access to fabrication studios is described as something fellows may request, so the announcement does not establish that access is automatic or guaranteed. Applicants should review the program’s official instructions for the conditions attached to facilities and other resources.

Applications Close January 8

Prospective applicants can consult mfah.org/core for the application instructions and submit materials by January 8, 2027. The residency is scheduled to begin in September 2027 and conclude in July 2029. The announcement does not give a date for selection decisions or identify any later application stages.

Applicants seeking details not included in the announcement—such as eligibility, required materials, financial support or the number of available places—will need to check the MFAH’s program information or contact the museum. Any updates to the deadline or selection timeline would need to come from the program.

Key Questions

What is the application deadline?

Applications for the 2027–29 term are due January 8, 2027, according to the program announcement.

When does the residency run?

The announced term runs from September 2027 through July 2029.

Who is the program for?

The announcement describes it as a residency for emerging artists and critical writers committed to developing a sustainable practice. Specific eligibility rules are not included in the supplied material.

What support do fellows receive?

Listed benefits include a private studio, regular studio visits, free or discounted Glassell classes, possible access to fabrication studios, museum and collection access, and borrowing privileges at two libraries. The announcement does not specify a stipend or housing.

Where can applicants find instructions?

The announcement directs applicants to mfah.org/core for instructions and more information.

Source: hyperallergic.com

You May Also Like

“Thinking From Black” Is A Glossary Of Possibility

A 2026 book edited by six scholars brings artists, poets and historians together to rethink words connected to Black life and possibility.

Red Moons And Lightning Illuminate Sarah Lee’s Uncanny Landscapes

Unconfirmed reports suggest that Sarah Lee’s latest art series features landscapes illuminated by red moons and lightning, attracting growing public interest.

British Museum Surges In Global Coverage

The British Museum has experienced a significant surge in international media coverage, with mentions increasing elevenfold in recent monitoring, prompting widespread attention.

Art Museum Surges In Global Coverage

Interest in the art museum has spiked in global media, with 12 mentions this window, marking a notable increase from baseline coverage, though the cause remains unconfirmed.