AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get art and craft supplies delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art program for students entering in fall 2027. Applications are due Jan. 10, 2027, and the school says applicants can apply without a fee through Dec. 14. The announcement describes facilities, study opportunities and exhibitions but does not specify admissions criteria or cohort size.

Washington University in St. Louis is accepting applications for fall 2027 entry to its two-year, fully residential MFA in Visual Art, inviting artists working across media and approaches. Applications are due Jan. 10, 2027, and the university says the application fee is waived through Dec. 14.

The program, based in WashU’s Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, describes its scope as spanning historical techniques, emerging media, scholarly research and social practice. The announcement presents it as a setting for artists to work across disciplines, rather than a program limited to one medium. It does not identify a preferred medium or state how many students will be admitted for the incoming class.

Facilities listed by the school include a digital fabrication lab, a time-based media art studio, printmaking and book studio, wood and metal shops, and textile studios. Students can also pursue opportunities through the Office for Socially Engaged Practice, the Counterpublic triennial fellowship and Berlin Sommerakademie, according to the announcement. The source does not detail eligibility or selection processes for those opportunities.

Students prepare work for several exhibitions during the program, culminating in a thesis exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum, the announcement says. The school also describes workshops, studio visits and lectures with visiting artists and critics. This year’s named visitors include Wafaa Bilal, Chloë Bass, Carolina Caycedo and Juan William Chávez; the announcement does not provide dates or a full schedule.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Applications open for fall 2027 entry;…
The developmentWashington University in St. Louis has opened applications for fall 2027 entry to its MFA in Visual Art program.

Facilities and Opportunities Across Media

The announcement gives prospective applicants a picture of the program’s studio resources and exhibition path as they weigh graduate study. Access to fabrication, printmaking, textiles, metalworking and time-based media spaces may be relevant to artists whose work crosses technical fields, while research and social-practice opportunities point to study beyond studio production alone.

The school also describes a program connected to a larger research university and to outside artists and cultural projects. That combination may matter to applicants seeking both specialized art facilities and opportunities for interdisciplinary work. These are program features described by WashU, not guarantees of particular outcomes, funding or professional placement.

The thesis exhibition at the Kemper Art Museum gives students a stated culminating venue for presenting their work. Alumni may be eligible for residencies at Paris’ Cité internationale des arts, the $25,000 Stone & DeGuire Contemporary Art Award, and a post-MFA studio fellowship, according to the announcement. It does not say how many awards or placements are available or provide award selection details.

Amazon

digital fabrication lab equipment

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Program Structure and Exhibition Path

WashU describes the MFA as a fully residential, two-year program within the Sam Fox School. Its stated curriculum aims to prepare students for varied approaches to contemporary art and to recognize multiple possible career paths. The announcement does not give a course list, teaching schedule or information about tuition and financial aid.

The report names core faculty including chair Tiffany Calvert, Jamie Adams, Josh Azzarella, Heather Bennett, Lisa Bulawsky, Joe deVera, Amy Hauft, Meghan Kirkwood, Arny Nadler, Patricia Olynyk, Jack Risley, Cheryl Wassenaar and Monika Weiss. It also cites MFA alumni Kahlil Robert Irving, Lavar Munroe, Ebony G. Patterson, Carlie Trosclair and Cayce Zavaglia. These names provide examples of the program’s faculty and alumni, but the source does not describe their individual experiences or career outcomes.

Admissions and Funding Details Not Listed

The announcement does not state the application requirements, portfolio format, recommendation requirements, interview process, cohort size or when applicants will receive decisions. It also does not specify tuition, available financial aid, stipends or whether all students can access the listed fellowships and residencies.

The fee-free application period is given as lasting through Dec. 14, but the announcement does not specify a time zone or clarify what charges, if any, might apply after that date. The Jan. 10, 2027 application deadline is stated; other admissions milestones and the program’s start date are not provided.

Applicants Face December and January Dates

Prospective students can apply without a fee through Dec. 14, according to the announcement. The application deadline for fall 2027 entry is Jan. 10, 2027. Applicants should consult the Sam Fox School’s admissions information for submission instructions and requirements, which are not included in the source announcement.

WashU has not provided a decision-release date, interview schedule or further admissions timeline in the material cited here. Those details, along with information on funding and cohort size, remain to be confirmed by the school.

Key Questions

When is the WashU MFA application due?

The application deadline for fall 2027 entry is Jan. 10, 2027, according to the announcement.

Is there an application fee?

The announcement says applicants can apply for free through Dec. 14. It does not specify what fee, if any, applies after that date.

How long is the MFA in Visual Art?

WashU describes it as a two-year, fully residential program through the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

What kinds of art does the program support?

The program announcement cites work involving historical techniques, emerging media, scholarly research and social practice. It does not list a fixed set of eligible media or preferred practices.

What application requirements have been announced?

The source material does not provide portfolio specifications, recommendation requirements, interview details, tuition or financial-aid information. Applicants will need to check the Sam Fox School admissions materials for those details.

Source: rss

FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

The Second World Cultural Festival In Hanoi: Hanoi Actively Builds Its Position As A Global Cultural Exchange Center – Vietnam.vn

Hanoi’s second World Cultural Festival aims to establish the city as a key international cultural exchange hub, attracting global attention and participation.

Best Handmade Ceramic Pottery Sets Compared

Compare wheel-thrown and slip-cast handmade pottery sets on character, consistency, care, price, and value to find the right fit.

What Else Do People Draw On Gradient.horse?

Exploring popular designs and trends on Gradient.horse, including what users commonly create and share on the platform.

Revisiting 35 Years Of An Iconic Newark Artist-Led Space

A comprehensive look at the 35-year history of Newark’s influential artist-led space, highlighting its impact and future plans.