TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The University at Buffalo Department of Art is inviting applications to its two-year MFA in Studio Art program, with a deadline of Jan. 15, 2027. The department says all MFA students receive full-tuition scholarships, and the program offers teaching appointments and health insurance. The announcement does not specify the number of awards, stipend amounts or other application requirements.
The University at Buffalo Department of Art is accepting applications for its two-year MFA in Studio Art, with a deadline of Jan. 15, 2027. The department says the program provides full-tuition scholarships to all MFA students, alongside teaching appointments and health insurance, making the announcement relevant to artists weighing graduate study and its costs.
The department describes the MFA as an interdisciplinary program combining independent studio practice with thematic labs, research, academic electives, seminars, studio visits, group critiques and exhibitions. Students work with faculty, visiting artists and curators, and develop their work through conceptual experimentation, critical inquiry and self-directed practice. Each candidate works with a thesis committee of full-time faculty, with the program culminating in a public thesis exhibition.
Funding described in the announcement includes full-tuition scholarships for every MFA student. The program also offers teaching appointments, which the department says provide professional teaching experience, and health insurance. The announcement does not give stipend figures or say whether other living and study costs are covered; “fully funded” here is supported by the specific benefits listed, not a detailed itemized funding package.
Students receive individual studios and access to facilities for manual and digital fabrication, photographic processes, print media and audio production. The department also identifies access to Coalesce: Center for Biological Arts, an art-and-science laboratory, and a Project Space for experimental exhibitions. The Department of Art is housed in the university’s Center for the Arts, alongside Media Study, Theater and Dance, and the UB Art Galleries’ CFA Gallery.
Funding and Studio Resources
The announcement gives prospective students a concrete application date and a stated tuition benefit at a time when the cost of graduate arts education can shape whether applicants pursue an MFA. The department’s commitment to full-tuition scholarships for all MFA students distinguishes the offer from programs where tuition support may depend on individual awards, though the available material does not provide a complete account of students’ expenses.
The program also links financial support with professional and artistic resources: teaching appointments, individual studios, production facilities and an interdisciplinary research setting. These details may matter to artists seeking both time to develop a body of work and experience teaching. The public thesis exhibition offers a defined culmination for the two-year course of study, while the department’s emphasis on labs and research points to opportunities beyond conventional studio disciplines.
Applicants should still compare the stated funding with the full cost of attendance. Health insurance and tuition support are named, but housing, fees, materials, teaching workload, compensation and the duration or conditions of appointments are not detailed in the announcement.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Inside the Two-Year MFA
The University at Buffalo presents its MFA as a studio-based degree supported by coursework and sustained faculty engagement. Each student’s thesis committee is made up of full-time faculty, and the department says the curriculum encourages interdisciplinary practice and research. The work is developed through critiques, seminars, studio visits and other academic activities before being presented in an exhibition.
The department is part of a university designated as an R1 research institution, according to the announcement, and describes that setting as providing access to knowledge across creative and academic fields. Its facilities span fabrication, photography, print and sound, while Coalesce connects artistic work with biological arts. Those are program features reported by the department; the announcement does not provide information on admissions selectivity, cohort size or placement outcomes beyond saying graduates pursue careers in the arts.
The application notice was published by Hyperallergic as an announcement for the University at Buffalo program. It lists faculty advisors including Marc Böhlen, Becky Brown, Noah Breuer, Crystal Z. Campbell, Millie Chen, Maximilian Goldfarb, Berin Golonu, George Afedzi Hughes, Matt Kenyon, Joan Linder, John Opera, Reinhard Reitzenstein, Stephanie Rothenberg, Theo Triandos, Victoria Udondian and Paul Vanouse. Questions about the MFA can be directed to Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu.
““Our fully funded program offers teaching appointments to gain professional teaching experience, as well as health insurance. Funding includes full-tuition scholarships for all MFA students.””
— University at Buffalo Department of Art
Funding Details Still Unspecified
The announcement does not state how many students will be admitted, how candidates are evaluated, or what application materials are required. It also gives no stipend amount, teaching workload, appointment duration or details on fees, housing and other living costs. Applicants should not assume that full tuition, teaching appointments and health insurance cover every expense.
The source material does not provide a link to an application portal or specify when decisions will be released. The listed deadline is Friday, Jan. 15, 2027; prospective applicants can contact the director of graduate studies for program questions and should check the university’s official admissions information for current submission instructions and eligibility requirements.
Applicants Face January Deadline
Prospective students need to submit applications by Jan. 15, 2027. The announcement does not identify an admissions timeline after that date, so the dates for decisions, interviews or enrollment remain unconfirmed in the available information.
Applicants seeking clarification about the program can contact Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu. Before applying, they will need to verify the required materials, funding conditions and any costs not covered by the benefits described in the announcement.
Key Questions
When is the University at Buffalo MFA application due?
The listed deadline for the two-year MFA in Studio Art is Friday, Jan. 15, 2027.What does the program mean by fully funded?
The department says all MFA students receive full-tuition scholarships and says the program offers teaching appointments and health insurance. It does not specify stipend amounts or confirm that housing, fees and living costs are covered.How long is the Studio Art MFA?
The University at Buffalo describes the degree as a two-year program, ending with a publicly presented thesis exhibition.What facilities can MFA students use?
The department lists individual studios and facilities for fabrication, photography, print media and audio production. It also identifies access to Coalesce: Center for Biological Arts and an experimental exhibition Project Space.Where can applicants ask questions?
The announcement directs questions to Maximilian Goldfarb, director of graduate studies, at MG229@Buffalo.edu. Application requirements and submission instructions should be checked with the university.Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
